The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895
Record 24 of 84

System Number: 06637
Date: [11 November 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Lyme Regis]
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W631
Document Type: ALS

(p. 1) Well he's off - is Peter[3]! - and here I am Chinkie hanging on - as usual the last! Amazing! - All alone too!

It was very nice though wasn't it of Peter to lend me Auguste[4] - I don't know what I should have done without him - Fancy the poor Grinder having to clean his fists full of brushes after the day's work - Trotting them back to the inn! in the gloaming with the wind buffeting himself & and the [p. 2] canvases filling out like a small stunsail, whatever that is - and the sea roaring "hard by" ! -

There's a picture for you Chink! - Well perhaps it's not so bad as that after all - and I shant be long now any how - So you must get ready to forgive the work if it isn't what you feel it ought to be - and try and find in it the calmness and promise of the next -

It's all right dont you think my own dearest only Luck?! -

You got my wire of course - and then the Early Bus this morning - Well I am clinging to the pen more than ever then! [p. 3][5] and you did all you could to take it away from me! -

Did the Kennedy[6] send the globules?. - Why couldn't his son[7] do it in his absence? - I think he mentioned by the way in his answer to my letter the other day, that he was going to see you the next afternoon and that then I was going out of town - though I am not quite sure - and in any case, I should see that his son attended to whatever you might require in his absence -

Chinkie dear isn't the pain [p. 4] better now darling Chink - and haven't these days you spoke of gone by yet? -

I am glad Webb[8] has been and was nice - I think of asking him to see Huish[9] if there be any point to argue in the agreement - I shall know I suppose tomorrow - How glad you will be to see Peter - mind you make him show his things - but of course he will be only too delighted -

What did you think of Nellies[10] letter?. -

Do you know I must write lots of pressing things - I do nothing but write and talk to my own Sweet Wam! - and at night I am so tired! - impossible to hold up my head -

The Kinsella[11] Chinkie I haven't yet written to!! - But I telegraphed to her that I hoped to return in a fortnight, I told you this - Well now that was what she wanted to know in [order] to see[12] about her arrangements - I shall write though - Dont you think you might send one little line to say that I begged you to for I should be there directly?

I must send a line to Huish who is waiting -

Goodnight dear Luck & the little prayers for the two Wams

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


Mrs J. McNeill Whistler -
Garlants Hotel
Suffolk Street
Pall Mall
London -
[postmark:] LYME REGIS / D / NO 11 / 95
[postmark on verso:] LONDON. S. W. / 5.15. AM / NO 12 / 95 / 14


1.  [11 November 1895]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. JW calls her 'Chinkie' and 'Luck' and themselves, the 'Wams'. She was seriously ill with cancer.

3.  Peter
Arthur ('Peter') Haythorne Studd (1863-1919), painter and collector [more].

4.  Auguste
Auguste, servant of A. H. Studd, lent briefly to JW in January 1897.

5.  [p. 3]
The page is numbered '(2.)' in the top right corner, but it is actually the third side of text.

6.  Kennedy
Dr Samuel Kennedy (b. ca 1848), surgeon.

7.  son
Not identified.

8.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

9.  Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more]. He was organising Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895.

10.  Nellies
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

11.  Kinsella
Louise Kinsella (d. 1923), patron of JW [more].

12.  to see ... [butterfly signature]
'to see ... directly' is written in the left and the rest in the upper margin on p. 1.