The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 3rd Exhibition, Society of Portrait Painters, London, 1893
Record 3 of 8

System Number: 06311
Date: [11 May 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Ethel Birnie Philip[2]
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler W305
Document Type: ALS

My dear Bunnie -

Dont fail to go to the Grafton[3] tomorrow! - Private View -

Don't venture to tell me, (in the short note you must write tomorrow evening so that we may get it on Sunday morning) that any thing prevented you! You had better telegraph to Webb[4] to meet you - I have sent him a little card also - so that he can get in to the Gallery if you were prevented meeting outside - and if later on you were to write [p. 2] a little pencil note about it all, someone will post it for you at in the Charing Cross Station as you know as late as 8. o'clock -

It is ridiculous in you not to come back and fight with your affectionate Brother - who misses you!

[butterfly signature]

Much love to ma Belle mère[5]!

This document is protected by copyright.


Miss Birnie Philip
36. Tite Street -
Angleterre -
[postmark:] PARIS-80 / R. DU BAC / [7E?] 12 / MAI / 93
[postmark on verso:] LONDON-S. W. / D [S?] / MY 13 / 93


1.  [11 May 1893]
Although the postmark is dated '12 / MAI / 93', the reference to the Grafton Gallery Private View being 'tomorrow' (see #06312) indicates that this was written on Thursday 11 May 1893. The London postmark ('MY 13 / 93') suggests that the invitation reached Miss Philip too late to be of use.

2.  Ethel Birnie Philip
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  Grafton
3rd Exhibition, Society of Portrait Painters, London, 1893. JW enclosed a Private View card, #06312.

4.  Webb
William Webb (b. ca 1851), of G. and W. Webb, lawyer [more].

5.  ma Belle mère
Fr., 'my mother-in-law', that is Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more].