The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892
Record 8 of 215

System Number: 05679
Date: 18 December 1891
Author: David Croal Thomson[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler T24
Document Type: ALS

[royal coat of arms]

116 & 117, NEW BOND STREET. W.

18 Decr 1891.

Dear Sir,

We have the pleasure to send you a cheque for £250 for your picture 'St Marks Venice[2]' sold in Paris. Kindly send us a receipt at convenience

With reference to the suggestion to have a collection of your important pictures [p. 2] we shall be glad to arrange for the exhibition[3] during the month of March 1892 & if you will kindly say that this is agreeable we can keep the time for you & arrange the details later.

Hoping soon to have the lithographs[4]

We are
Your faithful Servant[s]

pp [stamped:] BOUSSOD, VALADON & CO.

D. C. Thomson


J. McN. Whistler Eq

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  David Croal Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more].

2.  St Marks Venice
Nocturne: Blue and Gold - St Mark's, Venice (YMSM 213).

3.  exhibition
Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892. According to Thomson, he suggested the show to JW, saying 'Your etchings are known to every collector, your pastels have been exploited already in Bond Street, while your other works in lithography and water-colour will never command large enough markets to satisfy me and my Gallery, therefore there only remain your pictures in oil. I have found some success in showing the Carlyle, I have helped you towards placing The Mother in the Luxembourg; let us now gather together your paintings and make a very big splash.' (Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Life of James McNeill Whistler, 2 vols, London and Philadelphia, 1908, vol. 2, p. 120).

4.  lithographs
In #06090, T. R. Way to JW, 7 December 1891, Way mentions two lithographs that he was printing, Drury Lane Rags (C.25), and a lithographic copy of Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101). It is not clear if the former is referred to here, but the latter is referred to again in D. C. Thomson to JW, 21 December 1891, #05680.