The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: [Exhibition], Société des XX (Vingt), Brussels, 1888
Record 8 of 18

System Number: 05490
Date: 27 January 1888
Author: Octave Maus[1]
Place: Brussels
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler S135
Document Type: ALS



27 Janv. 88

Dear Mr. Whistler and friend

I am very glad receiving your telegramm [sic] and your kind letter[2] - I had sent you the prepared page to Paris, hôtel Chattam, [sic] and to London, at your house. Did you not received them? But now all is right. I have got your page[3], and I hope it will not be to [sic] late for making the cliché [sic]. Your name, quality and the butterfly is yet done, and very well "autographié."

Your place (by "tirage au sort") is no. 6, between Khnopff[4] and Dario[5].

I hope to see you at Brussels soon and shake friendly your hand

yours truly

Octave Maus

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Octave Maus
Octave Maus (1856-1919), advocate, writer and art critic [more].

2.  telegramm [sic] and your kind letter
Probably JW to O. Maus, #09237 and #09242. These and other letters dating from January and February 1888 document the safe passage of JW's contribution to the [Exhibition], Société des XX (Vingts), Brussels, 1888 to which he sent eight works. These included Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181), and St.James's Place, Houndsditch (K.290).

3.  page
A reference to the catalogue of the exhibition. JW had been asked to write a sheet of his own listing his entries. A facsimile of this appeared in the catalogue.

4.  Khnopff
Fernand Khnopff (1858-1921), painter, sculptor, designer and writer [more].

5.  Dario
Dario de Regoyos y Valdes (1857-1913), painter [more].