The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: [Exhibition of the work of J. McN. Whistler], College for Working Men and Women, London, 1889
Record 7 of 7

System Number: 05439
Date: [3/10 July 1889?][1]
Author: Walter Sickert[2]
Place: Midhurst
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler S83
Document Type: ALS

Dun Ford Cottage


Did you see P. M. G.[4] of July 1.

I told you my conversation with Stead[5].

G. T. is George Thomson[6] who wrote the charming article on your Queen Square show[7].

I think he will walk clean in to H. M. S[8]'s "gentlemanly" shoes.

[p. 2] Fancy an art-critic recording that some asses[9] frame copperplates.

Cultivate the gentle & sympathetic G. T.[10] whose address is
311 Fulham Road S. W.

His stuff does execution. He is not what Mr. Hanson[11] wd. call too narrow in his views.

Charming letter from Russell Morney[12]. Said he valued my [matter?] exceedingly & saw in it real strength & character for the paper.

[p. 3] For the love of our Lord tell Mrs. Jimmie[13] to nag you to send us collection of etchings[14]. I want to do a monographic catalogue déraisonné [that?] shall be quite too.

Your cartoon[15] reigns here over the mantelpiece of the hall -

W. S.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [3/10 July 1889?]
Dated by reference to exhibition (see below).

2.  Walter Sickert
Walter Richard Sickert (1860-1942), artist and writer on art [more].

3.  1889
Written on the left in another hand in pencil.

4.  P. M. G.
Pall Mall Gazette, 1 July 1889.

5.  Stead
William Thomas Stead (1849-1912), editor of the Pall Mall Gazette from 1883-1890, founder-editor of the Review of Reviews in 1890 [more].

6.  George Thomson
George Thomson, journalist [more].

7.  Queen Square show
[Exhibition of the work of J. McN. Whistler], College for Working Men and Women, London, 1889, which was organised by Sickert.

8.  H. M. S
Possibly Morton Harcourt Sands (1869-1959), collector [more]; however, if the initials were written in another order, he may have meant Marion Henry Alexander Spielmann (1858-1948), journalist and writer on art [more], who seems more appropriate, in the context of the letter.

9.  asses
'asses' is double and 'copperplates' triple underlined.

10.  G. T.
Possibly George Thomson, journalist [more].

11.  Mr. Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

12.  Russell Morney
Russell Morney, possibly a journalist.

13.  Mrs. Jimmie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

14.  collection of etchings
There is no record of a significant collection of JW's etchings by Sickert.

15.  cartoon
Possibly Caricature of Walter Sickert (M.1023).