The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 2nd [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1892
Record 19 of 41

System Number: 05007
Date: 21 April 1892
Author: John Charles Potter[1]
Place: Darwen
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P647
Document Type: ALS

[embossed:] EARNSDALE,

April 21. 1892

My dear Whistler

I saw Goupils[2], & have written them that I would consent to the pictures going to Paris & Munich.

They can pack - arrange carriage & insurance - but they say, I must arrange with you as to who is to pay the cost of insurance &c, & their charges, at least 25.£. together

This should be prepaid [p. 2] before the pictures go. Who did you expect would undertake these charges? I cannot do so, nor should I like the pictures to leave Bond St till this is arranged, & paid for.

Wallrun Chapman[3] is staying here for Easter; so is the East wind.

Yours very truly

J Charles Potter

Should I have written in reply to you? I read your letter to say - arrange with Goupils

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  John Charles Potter
John Charles Potter (1854-1920), wallpaper manufacturer and collector [more].

2.  Goupils
Blue and Silver: Blue Wave, Biarritz (YMSM 41), Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52), Grey and Silver: Chelsea Wharf (YMSM 54) and Nocturne: Blue and Silver - Cremorne Lights (YMSM 115) were all shown in JW's exhibition Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892. None, as far as is known, was sent to the 2nd Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1892. However, Symphony in White, No. 2: The Little White Girl (YMSM 52) was sent to the 6th Internationale Kunst-Austellung, Munich, 1892.

3.  Wallrun Chapman
Possibly V. Walter Chapman, unidentified [more]; see his letter to JW, 2 February 1892, #00589.