The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 6th Exhibition, Society of Portrait Painters, London, 1896
Record 4 of 4

System Number: 04685
Date: [3 December 1896?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler P325
Document Type: ALS[3]

8. Fitzroy Street -
Fitzroy Square - London

Your telegram Major came - while I think of it, you might always telegraph
Whistler - Sunlocks. London[4] -

Well you may as well let the other things come through the Goupils[5] - but of course it was the book I want - I must look [p. 2] but certainly I didn't see it in the boot box -

Tell me you are sure it was with us here?

Postman - Have him told clearly that he should have seen you about the registered letter - and if not able to deliver it give it up to you, he should have taken your instructions or have informed you what to do -

Say that we must know where it is - Why has he never come again with it?

In short he is not to have any Christmas box until some how or other I get that letter -

We cannot be left without any further knowledge.

See that this particular man is singled out and told - The other postmen I believe we used to give 2 francs each -

I never told you how delighted I was to know that you were taking such care of the beautiful silver[6] -

Tell Bunnie[7] I will write soon to her - but she had got it all wrong about the Grafton Gallery letters[8]! [p. 3] They wrote to me - My letter was the answer!

I am afraid my victories are hearkened to in rather a distraught way! -

Always affectionately & always in crazy haste

The General.

Cheque enclosed - You may tell Louise[9] that Constant[10] will be back with her by Christmas any way! -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [3 December 1896?]
Dated by the reference to the Grafton Gallery and Christmas.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. JW called her 'Major' and himself 'General'.

3.  ALS
The letter has a mourning border.

4.  Sunlocks. London
Address of William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].

5.  Goupils
Art dealers. JW had asked for a letterbook, painting and dress to be sent (#04686).

6.  silver
JW and his wife Beatrix had collected Georgian and Dutch silver, much of which was eventually bequeathed to the Hunterian Art Gallery by R. Birnie Philip.

7.  Bunnie
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

8.  Grafton Gallery letters
The venue for the 6th Exhibition, Society of Portrait Painters, London, 1896. See the letter from A. S. Wortley to JW, 10 November 1896 (#07135).

9.  Louise
Louise, JW's servant at 110 rue du Bac [more].

10.  Constant
T. C. J. Constant, JW's servant and valet [more].