The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 2nd [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1892
Record 2 of 41

System Number: 04072
Date: 12 February 1892
Author: Valerie Meux[1]
Place: Chippenham, Wiltshire
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler M342
Document Type: ALS

[embossed:] DAUNTSEY HOUSE,

Feb 12th, 1892

Dear Mr Whistler

I must congratulate you on your new honours[2] & I wish you all success in life

I will do as you ask "pay the little man[3]" [p. 2] but don't put new frames [on] again.

I have not seen the pink picture [4]since I lent it you. I quite thought it went to Paris with you.

As you will see from the address I am not [p. 3] in London. I don't think I shall go all the way to Paris to see my face[5] when I can see the original in the looking glass at home. I shall be delighted to talk about the proposed new picture as long as I don't have to sit. You are all that [p. 4] is charming but I cannot stand your brushes flickering in front of my eyes. I thought perhaps the enclosed would interest you as it concerns my much loved Theobalds[6] & my menagerie.

With kindest regards
Sincerely Yours

V B Meux

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Valerie Meux
Lady Valerie Susan ('Susie') Meux (1847-1910), née Langdon, collector and patroness [more].

2.  honours
JW had just been made Officier de la Legion d'Honneur.

3.  little man
Frederick H. Grau (d. 1894/1895), picture framer [more].

4.  pink picture
Harmony in Pink and Grey: Portrait of Lady Meux (YMSM 229). It was shown in 2nd Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1892.

5.  face
Underlined three times.

6.  Theobalds
Theobald's Park, the Meux's country house in Hertfordshire.