The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Exposition Internationale de Peinture, Galerie Georges Petit, Paris, 1883
Record 9 of 10

System Number: 00365
Date: [1884/1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Florence Boughton[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler B142
Document Type: ALS

Flossie -

Breakfast with me here tomorrow morning you must - Simply! -

What I mean is will George and your Auntie[3] come? - Can you make them understand that the whole thing is very slight and sketchy - merely a note! [p. 2] as who should say of the expedition of Whistler to join his brother[4] in their native land!

I do think that your Auntie might yield a point for once and come - and then George has never seen the picture[5] -

If they all refuse me, you must[6] come Flossie with Mrs Jopling - or Madame Gabrielli[7]

Remember be here by half past 12 -

[butterfly signature]

You know I have had no breakfast this year - and this is only as I have explained just 'rushed' up at the last moment -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1884/1888]
Dated by signature; the same subject is mentioned in another undated letter (#00367).

2.  Florence Boughton
Florence ('Flossie') Boughton (b.1863, m.1887), Mrs J. C. Montagu Robb [more].

3.  George and your Auntie
George Henry Boughton (1833-1905), painter [more], and probably Henrietta G. Cullen (b. ca 1847), sister of Katharine, Mrs G. H. Boughton.

4.  expedition of Whistler to join his brother
This is a mysterious statement since although JW had vague plans for a lecture tour in America, neither he nor William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], returned to America. However, it is possible that JW is referring to a pair of portraits rather than themselves, namely Arrangement in Grey: Portrait of the Painter (YMSM 122), and Portrait of Dr William McNeill Whistler (YMSM 123), which may have still been owned by the artist or sitter.

5.  the picture
Possibly Arrangement in Grey: Portrait of the Painter (YMSM 122), which had been exhibited in Exposition Internationale de Peinture, Galerie Georges Petit, Paris, 1883.

6.  must
Underlined four times.

7.  Mrs. Jopling - or Madame Gabrielli
Louise Jopling (1843-1933), née Goode, later Mrs Jopling-Rowe, artist [more], and Henrietta Gabrielli (b. ca 1839), wife of Antonio Gabrielli, FRGS, engineer [more].