The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895
Record 9 of 84

System Number: 03625
Date: [19 September 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Lyme Regis
Recipient: Ernest George Brown[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 9/31
Document Type: ALS

Royal Lion Hotel - Lyme Regis -
Dorset -

Dear Mr. Brown -

Perhaps this time you really have got hold of something that might be managed! -

What I mean is, if you are going to have an exhibition of lithographs by the Tademas[3], Leightons[4], Richmonds[5] and other great and chosen ones of Burlington House - Why [p. 2] that opens up quite a new situation! -

If this is already a settled thing, or if you can bring about such an exhibition in the Galleries of the Fine Art Society, then indeed - for "reasons" of my own - I promise you may have among them on your walls a lovely lot of selected proofs of mine - Subject, of course to certain minor and unimportant details that can be readily arranged later on. -

The thing now is to know whether this show can be brought about - Write and tell me - and say to Mr. Huish[6] that I am sure this would be very pretty business! -

[p. 3] As to Mr. Burril[7] I don't think I have heard any thing of him - and what to do about the two pastels[8] at this moment I do not know! for as you see we are here - and the one reason for every thing is health - for Mrs. Whistler[9] is still far from well - and nothing else can one well think of -

However tell me what I asked you to do about Mr. Burell [sic], for I have forgotten and on the other hand say to him from me that I will try and do something when I get back -

I really have [p. 4] forgotten though - (I have been so greatly anxious about other matters) so that you had better tell me all about it first.

If you have any little bright bits of news with which to enliven your letter, dont forget to put them in - and ask Mr Huish if he as any thing to tell me -

Very sincerely

J McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [19 September 1895]
This is a reply to a letter from E. G. Brown to JW, 18 September 1895,#01294.

2.  Ernest George Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more]. This letter relates to Mr Whistler's Lithographs, The Fine Art Society, London, 1895 which opened in December 1895.

3.  Tademas
Lawrence Alma-Tadema (1836-1912), painter [more].

4.  Leightons
Frederic Leighton (1830-1896), painter and sculptor [more].

5.  Richmonds
Probably William Blake Richmond (1842-1921), portrait painter and sculptor [more].

6.  Mr. Burril
A misspelling of William Burrell (1861-1958), ship-owner and collector [more] (see #01294).

7.  Mr. Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

8.  Mrs. Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]. Beatrix was ill with cancer.

9.  two pastels
It is not entirely clear which of Burrell's pastels were in need of repair. He may have owned four pastels at this time, The Purple Iris (M.397), r.: Morning Glories; v.: Nude study (M.410), San Giovanni Apostolo et Evangelistae (M.783), and Mother and child (M.1288), as well as two watercolours, Amsterdam in Winter (M.877) and Convalescent or Petit Déjeuner; note in opal (M.903). He eventually sold all these, but acquired, and kept, two more pastels,The Bridge; flesh colour and brown (M.759) andModèle drapé (M.1071).