The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 5th [Exhibition], Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1895
Record 3 of 4

System Number: 03401
Date: [25 September 1895][1]
Author: JW
Place: Lyme Regis
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 154
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]

The Royal Lion Hotel - Lyme Regis

My dear Tom -

I am sending you by post some new lithographs[4] - just to get my hand in - Do put them on stone at once now that they are quite fresh.

I have not written for an age - It has been impossible to think of anything - We are here for a while - because of health for Mrs. Whistler[5] is still far from well - and finally I doubt not we shall go up to London to be near the doctor[6] -

[p. 2] I hear from Mr. Brown[7] of the Fine Arts, that every one is much agog about lithography and that the Paris Lithographic Exhibition[8] is attracting great attention - This is what you wrote to me about some time ago - Though I was in too much trouble to consider the matter as I would like to have done - Brown says that Sir Fredk. Leighton[9] bestirred himself for his "Section" -

I do not want to be in that Section at all - Therefore I wish you would send me the name of the "Direction" in Paris that I may write to them and say [p. 3] so - What did you send? -

I shall tell Mr. Pennell[10] to call and give you some sheets of old Dutch for these new proofs -

It is curious but I find I have a greater desire than ever to get on with these lithographs - and I fancy I shall be able to do something really good now - So you may imagine how eager I shall be to see the proofs! -

Say to your Father[11] that I hope to see him soon -

and with kindest regards to both of you, believe me always
Very sincerely yours

J McN Whistler.

Write me a letter and tell me all the news[12] -

This document is protected by copyright.


Thomas Way. Junr.
21. Wellington Street
[postmark:] LYME·REGIS / D / SP 25 / 95
[postmark on verso:] LO[NDON] / [illegible ] / S. M. P. / SP 26 / 95


1.  25 September 1895
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, p. 134, no. 140.

4.  lithographs
The Little Doorway, Lyme Regis (C.119), The Master Smith (C.120), The Sunny Smithy (C.121), The Good Shoe (C.122), Father and Son (C.123), The Smith's Yard (C.124), The Strong Arm (C.125); see JW to T. R. Way, [29 October 1895], #03408.

5.  Mrs. Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], was seriously ill with cancer.

6.  doctor
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

7.  Mr. Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

8.  Paris Lithographic Exhibition
At the 5th Exhibition, Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 1895.

9.  Sir Fredk. Leighton
Frederic Leighton (1830-1896), painter and sculptor [more]. For JW's antipathy to Royal Academicians, see also JW to T. R. Way, [31 July 1895], #03400.

10.  Mr. Pennell
Joseph Pennell (1860-1926), printer and illustrator, JW's biographer [more].

11.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

12.  news
'me all the news' is written in the left margin, at right angles to the main text.