The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Winter Exhibition, Society of British Artists, London, 1885-1886
Record 7 of 14

System Number: 00229
Date: [1885][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Otto Henry Bacher[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler B3
Document Type: ALS


'1885 (-2)[4]'

My dear Bacher -[5]

I wish you would come down again to me on Monday - Say at about 4. o'clock - or half past -

Bring any proofs of the photographs[6] you have - or the developed plates - You might stay and dine with us at the Vale[7] -

[p. 2] I want very much that you should know a young Mr. Tom Way[8] who is going to Paris to study painting - He is the son of a very old friend[9] of mine - and perhaps may go over at the same time with yourself - In any case you might take him a little in tow with you in Paris and show him how to start -

Let me know if you are coming - and if by any chance you go away without coming again to Tite Street, write me at once from Paris that I may know your address so that Mr. Way may call upon you -


[butterfly signature]

Come down if you can - and see the portrait of the lady[10] you like so much -

[p. 3] Bring another plate or two and see if you can get another snap -

'Fulham Studios[11]
454 Fulham Road.
S. W.'


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [1885]
The date '1885' added in another hand is confirmed by a reference to the Vale, JW's address after December 1884.

2.  Otto Henry Bacher
Otto Henry Bacher (1856-1909), book illustrator and etcher [more].

A old-established and still existing gentlemen's dining club.

4.  1885 (-2)
In another hand.

5.  My dear Bacher -
Written at right angle to heading.

6.  photographs
Not identified. Bacher was a competent photographer, who used his own photographs to illustrate Bacher, Otto Henry, With Whistler in Venice, New York, 1908.

7.  Vale
JW and Maud Franklin were living at the 'Pink Palace', The Vale, Chelsea, by February 1885. JW gave up the Vale and Fulham Road studio in the summer of 1888.

8.  Mr. Tom Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

9.  very old friend
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

10.  portrait of the lady
There are several candidates. Portrait of Lady Meux in Furs (YMSM 230), was commenced in 1881 and finally abandoned in 1886. Arrangement in Black: La Dame au brodequin jaune - Portrait of Lady Archibald Campbell (YMSM 242) was exhibited at 103rd exhibition, Ouvrages de peinture, sculpture, architecture, gravure et lithographie des artistes vivants, Palais des Champs Elysées, Paris, 1885. Arrangement in Black, No. 8: Portrait of Mrs Cassatt (YMSM 250) was shown at Winter Exhibition, Society of British Artists, London, 1885-1886.

11.  Fulham Studios...S. W.
The address was added in another hand.

12.  OTTO
Square collector's stamp, in red ink.