The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 105th Exhibition of the Royal Academy of Arts, Royal Academy, London, 1873
Record 1 of 3

System Number: 02242
Date: [31 January 1873][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Louis Huth[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H338
Document Type: ALd[3]

2 Lindsey Houses.
Chelsea -

Dear Mr. Whistler Huth -

The price I asked you for the Variations in P[ink][4] is 250. gs. If however you should not have understood me and were not inclined to this were not what you thought this were not to accord with what you may have understood do not you must not feel at all bound to take it -

I should ask 600. for the picture of Mrs. Huth[5] - but I should not exactly like to fix the price of the other two pictures until they are a little way on; as they - However I think the Venus[6] would ought to be somewhere about 6 or 7 hundred and the other of the two figures[7] at least 8 hundred or a thousand. But if [p. 2] you agree with me I think we might talk this over - The pictures anyhow are the ones that I intend now to take up directly the Academy[8] work is over - and you can see as they progress whether you like to keep them for yourself -

'Copy[9] of Jamie's letter to Mr Huth Jan 31st 1873.'

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [31 January 1873]
Dated by Anna M. Whistler (see below).

2.  Louis Huth
Louis Huth (1821-1905), collector [more].

3.  ALd
The final version of this letter has not been located.

4.  Variations in Pink
Variations in Pink and Grey: Chelsea (YMSM 105); Huth bought it in February 1873.

5.  Mrs Huth
Helen Rose Huth (1837-1924), née Ogilvy, wife of the collector Louis Huth [more]. Arrangement in Black, No. 2: Portrait of Mrs Louis Huth (YMSM 125) was bought by Huth, and first exhibited at Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874.

6.  Venus
Probably Venus Rising from the Sea (YMSM 93).

7.  two figures
Probably Symphony in White, No. 3 (YMSM 61). Huth originally wanted to buy this in 1865 (see #06526), but it was later reworked and it is not clear whether he had gained possession before it was shown at the 6th Exhibition, Society of French Artists, London, 1873.

8.  Academy
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101), at first almost rejected, was eventually hung at the 104th Exhibition of the Royal Academy of Arts, Royal Academy, London, 1872. It has generally been considered that this experience made JW reluctant to send further works to the Royal Academy. This letter shows, however, that he may have had some plans to exhibit in 1873, although in the event he never exhibited paintings there again (see also #09022).

9.  Copy
This sentence added by Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more]. The date agrees with references to the Royal Academy.