The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Exposition Générale des Beaux-Arts, Brussels, 1890
Record 10 of 14

System Number: 02165
Date: 19 September 1890
Author: Edward W. Hooper[1]
Place: [London]
Recipient: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H262
Document Type: ALS

9 Bolton St -

Septr 19th '90.

Dear Mrs Whistler

On my return from Salisbury this evening I find your kind note about the "Fête on the Sands[3]". A hundred guineas is little enough for so charming a picture, and I will gladly take it at that price if you will let me remit the money at once from [p. 2] Boston, on my return, in case my London credit should run short before I sail next week. If Mr Whistler wishes to have the picture stay at the Exposition[4] for the present it can of course be sent to me later.

My daughter[5] went to Windsor yesterday, and to Salisbury to-day, and I am glad to say that she has stood the fatigue [p. 3] quite well.

Hoping that we may soon see you and Mr Whistler on our side of the Ocean

I am yours sincerely

E. W. Hooper

This document is protected by copyright.


'Letter from E W Hooper of Boston -
re "Fête on the Sands"
Letter from Trix to him'

're. sale.[6] 1890 - '

'Rough drafts[7] of Mrs. Whistler's letters written for her husband
R. B. P'[8]


1.  Edward W. Hooper
Edward William Hooper (1839-1901), collector [more].

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Fête on the Sands
A Red Note: Fête on the Sands, Ostend (YMSM 366).

4.  Exposition
Exposition Générale des Beaux-Arts, Brussels, 1890.

5.  daughter
Ellen Sturgis Hooper (b. ca 1873), later Mrs John Briggs Potter [more].

6.  re. sale....
This line was written in blue ink.

7.  Rough drafts...
The remainder of the text is written in the hand of Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], in pencil.

8.  R. B. P'
The notes on the envelope were written in at least three different hands. The first hand may be that of Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more], and is similar to that on #07515. The last (signed) is that of R. B. Philip. The envelope was used to store Hooper's letter and other letter drafts, and is not the original envelope in which Hooper's letter was posted.