The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Document associated with: [Etchings from the collection of Howard Mansfield], St Botolph Club, Boston, 1894
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 01781
Date: 8 March 1895
Author: William Graham[1]
Place: Boston
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler G147
Document Type: ALS

"The Ludlow" S. James ave

Mar 8. 1895

Dear Mr Whistler

I have time and again had the idea of venturing a few words to you. but the fear of the little interest my writing might have for you has rather held me back[.] Now, however, the departure for Europe of a couple of friends who have been infinitely kind to me during both my stays in Boston, gives me motive to shake of[f] a little of my reserve - Mrs Calvin G.[2] and Miss Edith Page[3], the ladies I [p. 2] speak of have a nice, and not mere faddy appreciation of your work, and I feel it would be a great satisfaction to them to know, though ever so slightly, the author - hence the liberty I have taken of giving them a letter to you -

A while ago, I was surprised and delighted to find that a gentleman of This City[4] had a most complete collection of your etchings - I was made aware of the fact by his kindly giving the public an opportunity to see them in the Gallery of the S. Botolph Club - Among the many who had their say in print in regard to them - was Elwell[5] [p. 3] of Venetian memory - Elwell is still dreamy, poetic and, I am grieved to say, not succes[s]ful -

Just now, there is an exhibition on at one of the dealers of some of Theodore Wores[6] work. I was interested to see what progress he had made on the already good work he had when I was in London - This was, in a way admirable but, Oh! so Workmanlike[.] German blood, and German training asserts itself in him as the years go by - It is seldom I venture criticise, having a tolerable sense of my own deficiencies, and still the consciousness of not being quite bad enough painter, to make an habituale [sic] critic - Still I cannot but think, you would have sympathised with me in [p. 4] the feeling with which I contemplated this job lot -

But I will leave art, willingly to turn to things domestic - You were the happiest of men in the possession of your admirable wife[7], I hope you continue to appreciate the treasure you have - Have you ever heard, I have lost my share of happiness? - she[8] died too when I was far away from her -

Beleive [sic] me my dear Mr Whistler
Yours truly

Wm Graham

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  William Graham
William Graham (1841-1910), artist [more]. He had met JW in Venice 1879-1880.

2.  Mrs Calvin G.
'Mrs Calvin G.', unidentified.

3.  Miss Edith Page
Edith Page, unidentified.

4.  a gentleman of This City
Howard Mansfield (1849-1938), New York lawyer, print collector [more]; [Etchings from the collection of Howard Mansfield], St Botolph Club, Boston, 1894.

5.  Elwell
D. Jerome Elwell (1847-1912), landscape and marine painter [more]. He was also in Venice 1879-1880.

6.  Theodore Wores
Theodore Wores (1860-1939), landscape and orientalist painter [more].

7.  wife
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

8.  she
Mrs William Graham, wife of the artist [more].