The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 94th Exhibition of the Royal Academy of Arts, Royal Academy, London, 1862
Record 3 of 14

System Number: 13733
Date: [7 April 1862][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Edwin Edwards[2]
Place: Sunbury on Thames
Repository: Fitzwilliam Museum Library, Cambridge
Document Type: ALS

62. Sloane Street. -

Dear Charles Price!

I've only just got back from the belle France and in great haste tell you of what I know will please you, that is a way of gratifying our bien aimé Fantin[3] - I extracted from him, you know his sensitive delicacy, the satisfaction it would give him if one of his "nature mortes[4]," were sent to the Academy this year - so if you have time and can manage to send the one you consider most important he would I know be very much pleased.

If you get to town do drop round and peep at what I've got - I [p. 2] heard the last time I crossed the Channel that you have some stunners[5] yourself - If I had a moment I wish I could see them - Haven't been able to get round to Robert Ridley's[6] yet, but shall tomorrow -

His dock yard I saw - it's a clipper and I am proud of him -

A bientot [sic] - -
Make my compliments empressés[7] to Mrs Edwards[8] -
Ever Yours

Jim Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


C. P. Edwards Esq:
Thames Bank House
[postmark:] [LONDON] S.W / AP 7 / 62
[postmark on verso:] LONDON [...] [10?] / AP [illegible]


1.  7 April 1862
Dated from the postmark.

2.  [Edwin Edwards]
Edwin Edwards (1823-1879), lawyer, painter and etcher [more]. It is not clear why JW addresses him as 'Charles Price'. (There was a notorious swindler and forger called Charles Price (b. ca 1730) who committed suicide in 1796.)

3.  Fantin
Fr., well loved Fantin, that is, Ignace-Henri-Jean-Théodore Fantin-Latour (1836-1904), artist [more].

4.  nature mortes
94th Exhibition of the Royal Academy of Arts, Royal Academy, London, 1862 (cat. no. 384) 'Still-life'.

5.  stunners
Although Edwards was a practising lawyer, he was also an aspiring artist; this may a reference to his works. Alternatively, Whistler may be referring to works by Fantin that were owned by Edwards.

6.  Robert Ridley's
JW may mean their mutual friend, Matthew White Ridley (1837-1888), painter and etcher [more]; his etchings of ships were admired by JW; see Gatty, Valerie, 'Artist's Fruitful Friendship,' Country Life, CLV, no. 4001, 7 March 1974, pp. 507-08.

7.  compliments empressés
Fr., best compliments.

8.  Mrs Edwards
Elizabeth Ruth Edwards (ca 1833 - d.1907), née Enscombe, wife of Edwin Edwards [more].