The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: 6th Internationale Kunst-Ausstellung, Munich, 1892
Record 29 of 37

System Number: 11640
Date: [28 November 1892][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: Alexander Reid[3]
Place: [Glasgow]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 208
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS


Hotel du Bon la Fontaine

Dear Mr Reid -

Your picture has gone to Petit's[4] - and by this time is well on its way home to you - We have heard from Mr Ives[5] - this morning[.] He will himself write to you - He says - "If you will indicate to me the names of the owners of works which you would care to have seen here - I will [p. 2] write officially inviting the owners to contribute - Of course, all expenses connected with the insurance and transportation will be borne by the Exposition."

Your picture[6] from Munich is also on its way - will you let Mr Whistler know when it reaches you -

Now - I am going to ask you to do me a favour - When you write next time to Monsieur Potier[7] - 84 Rue de P. C. [p. 3] will you ask him to give you the address of the house where he got the green stuff for covering walls used by Madame Manet - Madame Morizot[8]- I saw it at Monsieur Mallarmés[9] and he told me that Monsieur Potier would know the address. It is a sort of sateen and very cheap - - I shall be so much obliged if you will do this for me - - You know M. Potier - and [p. 4] Mr Whistler does not.

I hope you will be successful in getting the green stuff from Taylor[10]. I have written for a piece more for the studio -

With kind regards to Mrs Reid[11] -
Believe me
Very sincerely

Beatrix Whistler -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [28 November 1892]
Dated from day of the week, Monday 28 November. This was the most likely date of receipt of Ives' letter, #09701, dated 16 November 1892 which JW quotes here.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Alexander Reid
Alexander Reid (1854-1936), Glasgow dealer [more].

4.  Petit's
Georges Petit (1856-1920), Paris art dealer [more].

5.  Mr Ives
Halsey Cooley Ives (1847-1911), painter [more]. She is referring to World's Columbian Exposition, Department of Fine Arts, Chicago, 1893.

6.  picture
Arrangement in Black and Brown: The Fur Jacket (YMSM 181) had been in 6th Internationale Kunst-Austellung, Munich, 1892.

7.  Monsieur Potier
Pottier (or Portier or Potier), a haberdasher or upholsterer. This is possibly a misspelling. Alexander Reid calls him 'Portier' in #05145, his reply to this letter.

8.  Madame Manet - Madame Morizot
Presumably Berthe Marie Pauline Morisot (1841-1895), Mme Eugène Manet, artist [more].

9.  Monsieur Mallarmés
Stéphane Mallarmé (1842-1898), Symbolist writer and poet [more].

10.  Taylor
Alexander J. Taylor (b. ca 1848), upholsterer [more].

11.  Mrs Reid
Harriet Elizabeth Adriana Reid (b. 1865), née Stevenson, wife of the dealer A. Reid [more].