The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Documents associated with: Mr Whistler's Etchings, The Fine Art Society, London, 1883
Record 8 of 54

System Number: 01155
Date: 15 January 1883
Author: Marcus Bourne Huish [1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler F87
Document Type: ALS

148, NEW BOND ST. W.


Dear Whistler

If you understood [from] me Guineas[3] of course you shall have it - & enclosed is check for £5.* * On my paper I wrote down £100 at the time[.][4] But that there was any understanding that the printing press was to pass to you I certainly was unaware of & cannot allow - So that remains our property.

The 105£ is to settle up the printing[5] & nothing else - I shd like to see [p. 2] you & the Decorators[6] here on the spot to settle about what is to be done as I may be going away for a fortnight or so [at the] end of this week.

Could you come up say at 12.30 Wednesday morning?

Faith[full]y yours

Marcus B Huish

J A Mc[N] Whistler Eq.

15 Jan 83.

[p. 3] 'F. A. S.[7]'

[p. 4, sketches of figures[8]]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Marcus Bourne Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

2.  '1883'
Written in another hand, in pencil. The very top of the page has a section torn from it, seemingly without the loss of any text.

3.  Guineas
See JW to M. B. Huish, #01154.

4.  * On my paper I wrote down £100 at the time[.]
This line is written at the foot of p. 1, and linked to this point in the text by an asterisk.

5.  printing
The printing of etchings from Mr Whistler's Etchings of Venice, 1880 (the first 'Venice Set') (K. 183-189, 191-195). (excat 5).

6.  Decorators
Probably the workmen who were to carry out JW's yellow and white scheme of decoration for his forthcoming exhibition Mr Whistler's Etchings, The Fine Art Society, London, 1883. See Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Life of James McNeill Whistler, 2 vols, London and Philadelphia, 1908, vol. 1, pp. 310-12.

7.  F. A. S.
Written in pencil, in JW's hand.

8.  sketches
Man and woman in period costume (M.878). These may represent theatrical costumes, such as those for the plays produced by Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more], with Janey Sevilla Campbell (ca 1846 - d.1923), née Callander, Lady Archibald Campbell [more], at Coombe.