The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler

return to search results

Document associated with: A Collection of Paintings representing The Glasgow School, Artists of Denmark and Some Others, Art Institute of Chicago, 1895
Record 1 of 1

System Number: 01022
Date: 15 March 1895
Author: Arthur Jerome Eddy[1]
Place: Chicago
Recipient: JW
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler E10
Document Type: ALS


My dear Mr Whistler;

In spite of the fact that you have not yet written me that I may send you the balance due on portrait, I enclose draft on London for 150 guineas to apply on amount yet unpaid. I do [p. 2] this because I am never quite easy while in debt and then you know a lawyers income, like an artists, has its ups and downs, and bye and bye I might not have so much to pay with as I happen to have just now. Besides Durand-Ruel[2] can better wait for the pay for his pictures [p. 3] than you.

The forgoing is my excuse for sending the enclosed before you tell me to do so.


I notice you are having all sorts of trouble with Sir William Eden[3] - I hope you will be successful in the end.


Your delightful letter[4] about the trouble with Custom house came a few days ago. If you send the consular [p. 4] papers on your return to Paris, it will be time enough. - It is true - American artists have gained nothing by the removal of the duty.

The pictures[5] arrived long after the Exhibition[6] had closed, but I can exhibit them at the Institute[7] just the same - the trustees will be only too glad to have them. - I wrote you the nocturne[8] silver and blue did not come, but instead [p. 5] there was a little water color[9] about the size of this paper - 10 or 12 [inches?] by 4 or 5 -


I am very sorry that Mrs Whistler[10] is not well - try a sea voyage.


I am thinking of going to London in June on some business - it is possible I may be obliged to go - I wish [p. 6] I could spend the summer in Europe and see you all again - I should like also to go to Madrid and see the Velasquez[11].

Mr Lynch[12] sails May 20th and goes direct to Carlsbad - his health is not good. He finds great delight in the marine[13]. I was down to see it the other evening - it is [p. 7] a beautiful thing - beautiful in its simplicity and truthfulness.

With regards to Mrs Whistler and Miss Philip[14] -
I am sincerely yours

Arthur J Eddy

March fifteenth 1895

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Arthur Jerome Eddy
Arthur Jerome Eddy (1859-1920), writer and collector [more].

2.  Durand-Ruel
Art dealers in Paris and New York.

3.  Sir William Eden
Sir William Eden (1849-1915), painter and collector [more].

4.  letter
Not located.

5.  pictures
Possibly Violet and Blue: Among the Rollers (YMSM 413) and Nocturne: Black and Gold - The Fire Wheel (YMSM 169) (see Eddy to JW, 22 January 1895, #01021).

6.  Exhibition
Not identified.

7.  Institute
A Collection of Paintings representing The Glasgow School, Artists of Denmark and Some Others, Art Institute of Chicago, 1895. The works exhibited were pastels: Brittany (M.1369), Mother and child (M.1288), The Shell (M.1291).

8.  nocturne
Not identified.

9.  water color
Not identified.

10.  Mrs Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more]; she was seriously ill with cancer.

11.  Velasquez
Diego Rodriguez de Silva y Velázquez (1599-1660), painter [more].

12.  Mr Lynch
John A. Lynch (1853-1938), Chicago banker [more].

13.  marine
Violet and Silver: A Deep Sea (YMSM 411).

14.  Miss Philip
Probably Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].